Features
  • Best Customer Service: "SmartMoney's Annual Broker Survey
  • Broker Assisted Trade at no additional cost
  • #1 online discount broker by SmartMoney Magazine
  • Free real-time quotes
Mobile Interface
Previous
  • mzl.cpawcwfs.320x480-75
  • mzl.lrbozbga.320x480-75
  • mzl.ongzluxn.320x480-75
  • mzl.tvmpebzq.320x480-75
  • mzl.ufjhdrhx.320x480-75
Next
Web Interface
Previous
  • img_realtime_trading
  • img_screen_multileg
  • img_screen_options
  • img_streaming_quotes_0
  • live_chart_ss
  • move_module
Next
Tradeking User Review Author: 14 June 2012

Overall Rating

Recommends Tradeking for:

  • Discount Trading
  • Long Term Investing
  • Penny Stock Trading
  • Options Trading

Active traders especially those who often deal in options must tryTradeKing. TradeKing is a licensed broker aiming to empower self-directed traders. The best part about them is that their offering is same for everyone, beginners and experts alike. So, everyone trades at discounted pricing and accesses same tools and resources. You would definitely like their Trader Network that allows individuals to connect with each other and enhance their trading skills. It’s definitely worth giving this discount broker a try, mainly because they have been successful in engaging clients with their extensive tools, educational resources, and above all a solid trade platform. Rest assured that your assets are safe, as TradeKing offers SIPC protection along with additional third-party insurances.

For detailed information, browse through our detailed reviews below.

What Type of Accounts you can open with TradeKing?

TradeKing offers a whole host accounts to choose from. You can easily find the one that suits your needs. Popular accounts that you can open with Tradeking are Individual, Joint and Custodial.

The list of all accounts that you can open with Tradeking is:

  1. Individual Account
  2. Joint Account
  3. Custodial Account
  4. Retirement Accounts: Traditional IRA | Roth IRA | Rollover IRA |
  5. LLC Account
  6. Trust Account
  7. Sole Proprietorship Account
  8. Investment Club Account
  9. Partnership Account
  10. Corporate Account

Tradeking offers the following selection of investment products:
  1. Stocks
  2. Options
  3. Mutual funds
  4. Bonds
  5. CDs
  6. Forex
  7. Treasuries
  8. ETFs

TradeKing: Fees & Commissions

  1. Options:TradeKing's pricing for trading options is less than what some of the other key players charge. One impressive thing to note is that the multi-leg trades are charged as a single-leg trade. Another good thing is that short trades on options valued at 5 cents or less, you pay absolutely nothing to close such positions.
  2. Stocks, Mutual Funds and ETFs:TradeKing guarantees that orders will be filled at Best Bid and Offer prices available at the National level. This is a unique feature that allows placing fast-pace market orders.You can trade stocks and ETFs at a flat pricing, irrespective of how much you trade or how big your account is.
  3. Certificate of Deposits: They offer CDs with different maturity dates.
  4. Bonds:You can transact in bonds at $4.95/bond and a minimum $4.95/transaction.
  5. Treasuries:Trades in Treasuries can be done at $24.95/transaction

TradeKing’s Tools and Platform Performance

Tradeking's research and trading tools are highly acclaimed among the investor community. Barron’s has rated them twice in the best web-based broker category.

Tradeking offers a Browser-Based trading platform, TradeKing LIVE. It is designed to meet active trading requirements and can work virtually on any mobile device, be an iPad or a tablet. You can keep a track of your investments in real-time through live streaming quotes and current news. The key advantages of TradeKing LIVE are as follows:-

  1. It’s ideal for Real-Time Trading as you can manage watch lists and order entry on the same screen.
  2. You can filter Option Chains to keep strikes from a desired range and access real time quotes along with implied volatility and even compare strikes from different expirations.
  3. It allows you to place Multi-Leg Orders and pre-populate orders from your options chains.
  4. The layout for TradeKing LIVE is customizable with easy Drag and drop feature.

Tools offered by Tradeking are:

  1. Maxit Tax Manager: It simplifies your tax reporting while providing you real-time analysis and even helps in identifying tax-smart investments. It tracks all your portfolio transaction and calculates accurate tax liability.
  2. Market Stats:Track market activity such as major advancers and decliners. You can view quick charts with 200 day moving averages.
  3. Latest News: You even get comparision to peer stocks, historical quotes along with a snap-shot of current trading activity along with options activity.
  4. Research Company Profile:You can get access to important data such as business description, market cap, stock price and volume, dividends, management profile, reported profits and valuations.
  5. Company’s Earnings Forecast: Using this you get to compare how that company has performed in comparison to forecasts in the past. You can even compare these forecasts to related sectors industry and indices.
  6. Track Insider Activity: You can see specific transactions and their impact on the stock price in a chart representation.
  7. Customizable Watchlist:TradeKing platform lets you customize every bit your watchlist and on top of that you get quick access to options chains, charts and news, all in one place.
  8. Quotes:TradeKing offers standard as well as streaming quotes. With these quotes you can track price info such as ask and bid, high and low, historical quotes and then other data such as options chains, peer performance comparison and much more.
  9. MarketGrader Research Reports: MarketGrader is a popular report that identifies undervalued stocks using fundamental analysis. This report evaluates over 5,500 companies and lists the ones that are expected to beat analysts’ expectations.
  10. Probability Calculator from TradeKing
  11. Profit & Loss Calculator
  12. Options and Strategy Scanners
  13. Stock, ETF + Mutual Fund Screeners
  14. Back Testing Screener

TradeKing's Mobile Platform

They have a mobile site which is compatible with most web enabled mobile devices. Traders can use mobile platform to trade basic options and stock orders, and track the latest account status. You may find it easy to get stock and option quotes, create watchlists and track positions. This platform allows you to check account activity anywhere anytime and you can access live Quotes and Charts. They also provide separate platforms for iPhone and Android based devices.

How good is TradeKing’s Customer Service and Support?

They surely are one of the top-notch players who maintain high quality customer service standards. They were ranked No. 1 by SmartMoney for their customer support.

Education & Training for Traders

Tradking offers a social platform for traders called "Trader Network" that lets you see the real trades that others are sharing. There, they have a leader-board, where you can track top traders as and when they make their trades. They also offer education for the traders in the "Education" section of the website. There you can find data segmented among security types, trader experience, market outlook, live events & webinars. They have one of the best knowledge center among the discount brokers.

Miscellaneous information about TradeKing:

Founded back in 2005, TradeKing has gained popularity among active traders for their fair pricing.

Ways to Fund your TradeKing Account

  1. Wire transfers - This way you should be able to trade in a few hours or less.
  2. Transfer your account from one another broker to TradeKing - For this you need to fill-up an account transfer form and submit it along with your latest brokerage statement.
  3. Check Payment
  4. Electronic transfer by setting up an ACH transfer - This you can directly do from the TradeKing website.

Extra Hours Trading with TradeKing: TradeKing allows Extra-Hours Trading. You can place pre-market orders from 8:00am ET till 9:00am ET. Post-market trading starts at 4:00pm ET for one hour.

TradeKing’s Auto Trade Feature:This is an optional feature and requires your authentication to be enabled. You don’t have to pay anything extra for the activation. Auto Trade allows you to automatically trigger trades based on recommendations based on your pre-set parameters or simply trade strategies from your favorite newsletter.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Ratings:


  • Overall

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

  • Miscellaneous

*

 

 

16 September 2013

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(false)

some one please help me with my decision I want to close my Scottrade account to come over to tradeking good or bad decision???


01 October 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

tradeking is a good broker for newbies as it doesnt require you to put down any money to begin with. must for complete newbies


03 July 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I was a Tradeking member for 1.5 years until February of 2012. I joined TK after seven years with Scottrade and it was a huge mistake. I was actively trading and wanted the discounted rate TK offered. What I got was a company that went down for a big chunk of the day four times in the 1.5 years I was with them. There were many other issues with their website over that time.

What put the nail in the coffin for me with this company is they will not transfer the cost basis to IB even after I\'ve contacted them twice to do so. Every time I contact them they say they will do it within a couple of weeks. It\'s been over four months, clearly they are not going to do it.


22 January 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I want to know what Online Broker to use when considering a few things. Hidden Costs and No Minimum Balance. I don't mind spending $10 a trade but I want that to be the ONLY money I spend w/o any type of Premium services. Any suggestions?


Jon


22 January 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I want to know what Online Broker to use when considering a few things. Hidden Costs and No Minimum Balance. I don't mind spending $10 a trade but I want that to be the ONLY money I spend w/o any type of Premium services. Any suggestions?


18 February 2010

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Both Zecco & Tradeking have thier benefits. Zecco has free trading every month if you cross the threshold. Otherwise both are pretty good and Zecco is slightly cheaper. You can read reviews about Zecco here if you are interested: Zecco Reviews


11 February 2010

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I want to know which is better... zecco or tradeking


14 October 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

recently tradeking starting targeting even the active traders. I think I like their trading interface, together with the range of tools and services they provide on their webpage.


14 October 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

one thing that I liked about tradeking was the customer service. Thankfully, I haven't had any major issues to resolve, but whatever the concerns I've had I was always able to resolve using their online chat tool. Never have had to call them for my problems.


14 October 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I have been using Tradeking for over an year now. The thing that attracted me towards it, was its transparent pricing policy, which I find the lowest in the market. Really, no confusing pricing tiers for trading, and the lowest commission rate of just $4.95 per trade irrespective of number of shares, as compared to more than $10 per trade from other brokers, no matter what they publicize. In other words, no fine prints.


14 July 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I have tried, Bank of America's BAISDIRECT trading broker, TDameritrade, Zecco, Etrade and TradeKing. Tradeking works hands down. Quick and painless, Great community website where people share their trades automatically.


20 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

TradeKing€™s customer service is also highly regarded. They have a phone line that€™s open on weekdays during regular work hours (ET), but also have a Live Chat (open on the same hours as phone) and Email feature prominently displayed on their site.


20 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

One of their biggest selling points is their price. They emphasize the fact that they don€™t have any hidden fees and they offer a flat low fee for all types of equity trades. Their flat rate is $4.95 per trade for market, limit or broker-assisted (or call in/phone) trades and it€™s the same price across the board. I like how simple that is! Most brokerages will charge you a much higher price for broker-assisted trades, with Scottrade hitting you up with $27 a trade or TD Ameritrade charging you $44.99. Now for TradeKing option trades, you€™ll pay only $4.95 per trade and $0.65 per contract.


20 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Tradeking has a unique Options search tool that allows you to review advanced as well as basic options strategies for a huge array of options trading techniques.


From straddles to strangles to covered calls as well as basic puts and calls, the Options Strategy Scanner will review the best options for your next options trade using the criteria you choose. Pretty Cool!


15 April 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Very good customer service. i referred a friend of mine. However due to a tracking issue they were not able to verify tracking, however when i callled them they did pay the friend referral fee to me.


11 April 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

great site, highly informational, keep it up :-D


06 April 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Very good customer service


04 April 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Love their broker assisted trading.. highly recommended


Eric Moore
12 November 2012
Reply

I heard about the recent Zecco and TradeKing merger. I think it will lead to a better trading experience and improved services. I am really looking forward to experience the positives of both TradeKing and Zecco

    Punit Gupta
    21 November 2012
    Reply

    Agreed. Tradeking customers get access to Forex tools from Zecco. Both brokerages combined, I feel they will be able to compete with the market leaders such as TD Ameritrade, ETrade

trading king
01 October 2012
Reply

50 bucks offer going on. Just signed up

Michael Trader
08 July 2012
Reply

I have been using tradeking for past several years and its a decent broker. I mean tools aren’t as advanced as ameritrade however tradeking gives you nice tools.

Varun Agarwal
06 September 2010
Reply

I have been using Tradeking for over an year now. The thing that attracted me towards it, was its transparent pricing policy, which I find the lowest in the market. Really, no confusing pricing tiers for trading, and the lowest commission rate of just $4.95 per trade irrespective of number of shares, as compared to more than $10 per trade from other brokers, no matter what they publicize. In other words, no fine prints.

Another thing that I liked about tradeking was the customer service. Thankfully, I haven’t had any major issues to resolve, but whatever the concerns I’ve had I was always able to resolve using their online chat tool. Never have had to call them for my problems.

Although I’m an amateur, but I can say for sure that even the active traders will like their trading interface, together with the range of tools and services they provide on year webpage.
I’ll definitely suggest people to try it once.!!!

trademiner
03 June 2010
Reply

like tradeking’s site because it allows me to see what other people are doing

Guest
20 May 2009
Reply

TradeKing’s customer service is also highly regarded. They have a phone line that’s open on weekdays during regular work hours (ET), but also have a Live Chat (open on the same hours as phone) and Email feature prominently displayed on their site.

Guest
20 May 2009
Reply

One of their biggest selling points is their price. They emphasize the fact that they don’t have any hidden fees and they offer a flat low fee for all types of equity trades. Their flat rate is $4.95 per trade for market, limit or broker-assisted (or call in/phone) trades and it’s the same price across the board. I like how simple that is! Most brokerages will charge you a much higher price for broker-assisted trades, with Scottrade hitting you up with $27 a trade or TD Ameritrade charging you $44.99. Now for TradeKing option trades, you’ll pay only $4.95 per trade and $0.65 per contract.

Guest
20 May 2009
Reply

"Tradeking has a unique Options search tool that allows you to review advanced as well as basic options strategies for a huge array of options trading techniques.
From straddles to strangles to covered calls as well as basic puts and calls, the Options Strategy Scanner will review the best options for your next options trade using the criteria you choose. Pretty Cool!"

Guest
11 April 2009
Reply

great site, highly informational, keep it up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

 

 

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Those Who Viewed Tradeking Review Also Viewed

Popular Brokerage Offers

14% chose this

Get a $100 cash rebate to cover any transfer fees

 

15% chose this

Trade FREE for 60 days at ETrade + Get $500 for deposits of 10k and more

 

14% chose this

Trade 15 times and you’ll get a free Kindle Fire HD

 

12% chose this

Get 60 days of FREE trading + Get up to $600 Cash Reward

 

Top