Features
  • Cheapest broker for frequent traders
  • Social networking community for Lightspeed customers
  • Direct access to ECN’s and exchanges
  • Free practice account
  • Automated trading
Mobile Interface
Previous
Next
Web Interface
Previous
  • lightspeed_homepage
  • lightspeed_traderplatform
  • lightspeedtrading_screenshot1
  • lightspeedtrading_screenshot2
  • lightspeedtrading_chart
  • lightspeedtrading_chart2
  • lightspeedtrading_level2quotes
  • lightspeedtrading_options
  • lightspeedtrading_accountsummary
  • lightspeedtrading_tickeralert
  • lightspeedtrading_positions
  • 1405_LightSpeedTrader_1
Next
Lightspeed Trading User Review Author: 13 February 2013

Overall Rating

Recommends Lightspeed Trading for:

  • Active Trading
  • Discount Trading
  • Options Trading

Lightspeed is primarily suited for highly active traders who need cheap executions and trade frequently. Occasional traders, beginners, buy-and-hold investors, and IRA account seekers should look elsewhere. They provide direct market access and brokerage service but they are more focused on getting professional players. The website is efficient which displays all relevant data to the traders without complexity. They are a member of Securities Investment Protection Corporation which protects your money in case the the firm goes bankrupt.

For detailed information, browse through our detailed reviews below.

What Type of Accounts can you open with Lightspeed Trading?

Lightspeed Trading offer a number of possibilities to open an account but traders have faced difficulties in opening the accounts, especially due to a lot of paper work.

The list of all account offered by Lightspeed is:

  1. Individual
  2. Joint
  3. Corporate
  4. Trust
  5. Partnership
  6. Sub-Accounts
  7. IRA's

Lighspeed Trading offer the following selection of investment products:

  1. Stocks
  2. Options
  3. Futures
  4. Forex

Lightspeed Trading: Fees & Commissions

Lighspeed are one of the lowest commission brokers in the industry and people choose and value them for that. Barrons have ranked them the best broker for High Frequency Trading . Lets take a dig in its pricing structure. Going for DMA is more expensive than the Lightspeed Web Trader which is flat-fee. Equities trades run just $.0045 per share, plus/minus routing fees, which are updated nightly and posted on the website ($1 minimum). For traders who place larger orders, a $4.50 flat-fee option is also available. Option traders pay $.60 per contract.

Lightspeed Trading Tools and Platform Performance

They offer a FREE market data and research package that includes: Real Time Level 1 data including Dow Jones Indexes, Nasdaq, AMEX, NYSE, (OPRA for approved options trading accounts), Detailed quote data, Charting, News.

Lightspeed offers following two platforms for the traders :

  1. Lightspeed Trader 8: You can access this desktop based platform if you have minimum $25,000 starting. The platform is fully automated and contains futures and options at one place.
  2. Lightspeed Web Trader: You can access this web-based platform if you have minimum $5,000. It has Options Strategy Center, News and Research. But it is very clumsy and difficult to comprehend.

Lightspeed Trading Mobile Platform

It seems that they've not laid much importance on their mobile support as of now and mainly continue to give services based on desktop based platforms. We can hope that they are going to introduce the same in near future.

How good is their Customer Service and Support?

Based on our observations, the customer service is average in the industry, they surely need improvement in this direction. We receive a lot of queries from new traders regarding the problems they've faced.

Education & Training for Traders

They offer different media like Video Library, Webinars (both live and recorded), Community News & Research, and a Trading Ideas section. We personally recommend the video library section where the learning is faster and easier than the others. Another good feature is the Lightspeed Spotlight which is an exclusive online social community for Lightspeed customers. Spotlight allows its’ members to connect, share ideas, have questions answered, as well as build a knowledge based trading foundation in an interactive environment. Lightspeed Spotlight is FREE for all Lightspeed customers and includes access to chart pattern recognition and trade setup software, news and videos updated every market day, blogs related to active trading and much more – all bundled together in a community/discussion setting.

CompareBroker’s Final Take on Lightspeed Trading

Headquartered in New York City, Lightspeed Trading is a leading provider of ultra low latency direct market access (DMA) trading technology, risk management solutions, and brokerage services for active and semi-active retail traders, proprietary trading groups, hedge funds, and algorithmic “black box” firms.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Ratings:


  • Overall

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

  • Miscellaneous

*

 

 

20 March 2013

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(false)

They are lying Sacks. For Instance yesterday i traded 1600 Shares.

My Commission Fee should have been 16.00.

The total Amount i was charged was $50.03. All kinds of Fees in addition to the Commission fees they advertise..

When i was oprning the Account i was told i could fund the Account in Euros. They said they would convert the Euros to Dollars at no Charge at the current Market Rate. They charged me $935.00.


Lik


16 December 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I AM A SOUTH AFRICAN CITIZIN LIVING IN SOUTH AFRICA AND WISH TO TRADE IN USA


06 November 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Great direct access trading software and low commissions. .39 cents per 100 shares, $1 per contract Options/Futures.


12 August 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

No possibility to complaint with Interactive brokers Asia and Salvatore Recco

Due to instability of Interactive Brokers systems and incompetence of \"Salvatore Recco\", I lost lot of money. It would not have happened with a competent and professional broker. But Salvatore Recco(Head of Institutional Services Asia) was slow, not polite, unprofessional, giving lame excuses and possibly make big money on my back.

0/IB asia has no independent complaint officer(the CEO so wont bother to answer). If a senior IB staff is incompetent, you could not complain.No one is checking what they are doing in Asia, so manipulations of the records/transactions and wrong doing can be done by their staffs in Asia.
1/ zero transparency: you wont get any records ( transaction, transcripts,...). \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my access to any records because he made the mistakes.
2/ you will not be able to speak or see face to face, \"Salvatore Recco\"or a manager or a complaint officer in Asia. They will just hide and send you a small potato guy.Thank to The small potato, I discovered that Salvatore Recco was lying and the staff might know his wrong doing.
3/ IB/Salvatore Recco will hide and refer you to a US complaint or any virtual manager in other continents.
4/ their methods in order that you give up your complaints, its their complaints tickets systems, it will take many months/ years instead of a day. They will tell you that they will get back to you within few days but instead give you lame excuses few month later. By that time all records could be modified by IB.
5/they have many others tricks so be careful, they can make you push to accept new rules at their favors when you later login,...
6/ they are not going to compensate you for their staffs mistakes for sure! Because They do not have any compensation fund aside in Asia !

On internet I find others complaints about \"Salvatore Recco\", if you have any problems with him or IB, please help me. I spend money on a lawyer and complaint regulators without any answer!!!
Help me because \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my complaint as he was the one involved and a head and possibly make a big money in my back!



12 August 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

No possibility to complaint with Interactive brokers Asia and Salvatore Recco

Due to instability of Interactive Brokers systems and incompetence of \"Salvatore Recco\", I lost lot of money. It would not have happened with a competent and professional broker. But Salvatore Recco(Head of Institutional Services Asia) was slow, not polite, unprofessional, giving lame excuses and possibly make big money on my back.

0/IB asia has no independent complaint officer(the CEO so wont bother to answer). If a senior IB staff is incompetent, you could not complain.No one is checking what they are doing in Asia, so manipulations of the records/transactions and wrong doing can be done by their staffs in Asia.
1/ zero transparency: you wont get any records ( transaction, transcripts,...). \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my access to any records because he made the mistakes.
2/ you will not be able to speak or see face to face, \"Salvatore Recco\"or a manager or a complaint officer in Asia. They will just hide and send you a small potato guy.Thank to The small potato, I discovered that Salvatore Recco was lying and the staff might know his wrong doing.
3/ IB/Salvatore Recco will hide and refer you to a US complaint or any virtual manager in other continents.
4/ their methods in order that you give up your complaints, its their complaints tickets systems, it will take many months/ years instead of a day. They will tell you that they will get back to you within few days but instead give you lame excuses few month later. By that time all records could be modified by IB.
5/they have many others tricks so be careful, they can make you push to accept new rules at their favors when you later login,...
6/ they are not going to compensate you for their staffs mistakes for sure! Because They do not have any compensation fund aside in Asia !

On internet I find others complaints about \"Salvatore Recco\", if you have any problems with him or IB, please help me. I spend money on a lawyer and complaint regulators without any answer!!!
Help me because \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my complaint as he was the one involved and a head and possibly make a big money in my back!



12 August 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

No possibility to complaint with Interactive brokers Asia and Salvatore Recco

Due to instability of Interactive Brokers systems and incompetence of \"Salvatore Recco\", I lost lot of money. It would not have happened with a competent and professional broker. But Salvatore Recco(Head of Institutional Services Asia) was slow, not polite, unprofessional, giving lame excuses and possibly make big money on my back.

0/IB asia has no independent complaint officer(the CEO so wont bother to answer). If a senior IB staff is incompetent, you could not complain.No one is checking what they are doing in Asia, so manipulations of the records/transactions and wrong doing can be done by their staffs in Asia.
1/ zero transparency: you wont get any records ( transaction, transcripts,...). \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my access to any records because he made the mistakes.
2/ you will not be able to speak or see face to face, \"Salvatore Recco\"or a manager or a complaint officer in Asia. They will just hide and send you a small potato guy.Thank to The small potato, I discovered that Salvatore Recco was lying and the staff might know his wrong doing.
3/ IB/Salvatore Recco will hide and refer you to a US complaint or any virtual manager in other continents.
4/ their methods in order that you give up your complaints, its their complaints tickets systems, it will take many months/ years instead of a day. They will tell you that they will get back to you within few days but instead give you lame excuses few month later. By that time all records could be modified by IB.
5/they have many others tricks so be careful, they can make you push to accept new rules at their favors when you later login,...
6/ they are not going to compensate you for their staffs mistakes for sure! Because They do not have any compensation fund aside in Asia !

On internet I find others complaints about \"Salvatore Recco\", if you have any problems with him or IB, please help me. I spend money on a lawyer and complaint regulators without any answer!!!
Help me because \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my complaint as he was the one involved and a head and possibly make a big money in my back!



12 August 2012

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

No possibility to complaint with Interactive brokers Asia and Salvatore Recco

Due to instability of Interactive Brokers systems and incompetence of \"Salvatore Recco\", I lost lot of money. It would not have happened with a competent and professional broker. But Salvatore Recco(Head of Institutional Services Asia) was slow, not polite, unprofessional, giving lame excuses and possibly make big money on my back.

0/IB asia has no independent complaint officer(the CEO so wont bother to answer). If a senior IB staff is incompetent, you could not complain.No one is checking what they are doing in Asia, so manipulations of the records/transactions and wrong doing can be done by their staffs in Asia.
1/ zero transparency: you wont get any records ( transaction, transcripts,...). \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my access to any records because he made the mistakes.
2/ you will not be able to speak or see face to face, \"Salvatore Recco\"or a manager or a complaint officer in Asia. They will just hide and send you a small potato guy.Thank to The small potato, I discovered that Salvatore Recco was lying and the staff might know his wrong doing.
3/ IB/Salvatore Recco will hide and refer you to a US complaint or any virtual manager in other continents.
4/ their methods in order that you give up your complaints, its their complaints tickets systems, it will take many months/ years instead of a day. They will tell you that they will get back to you within few days but instead give you lame excuses few month later. By that time all records could be modified by IB.
5/they have many others tricks so be careful, they can make you push to accept new rules at their favors when you later login,...
6/ they are not going to compensate you for their staffs mistakes for sure! Because They do not have any compensation fund aside in Asia !

On internet I find others complaints about \"Salvatore Recco\", if you have any problems with him or IB, please help me. I spend money on a lawyer and complaint regulators without any answer!!!
Help me because \"Salvatore Recco\" is blocking my complaint as he was the one involved and a head and possibly make a big money in my back!



07 November 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

i had to set up real tick and was working with mike g he is efficient, patient, and took great pains to get me up and running...guys on phone always helpful


03 November 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

if your an active hyper trader like me ,lightspeed is the place to be,from fast execution ,to stuck orders ,or just plain good ol fashion excellent human service ,whenevr i have a problem i can always rely on them to help me. especially the RMS department ask for (john mazzola)


05 October 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

The worst customer service I ever faced. I know I know I am new in investment. I asked this guy couple of questions. He said "You are not suitable. Educate yourself before to open account". Is that what their answer suppose to be?


11 August 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

are you serious? your complaint is about requirements to open an account?

do you trade or do you just open accounts? If its the former, then your focus should be on the platform and service, not the new account app. If it's the latter, go to some mainstream broker like TDA or e*trade.


11 August 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

If you are a real trader there really is no other choice. The past two 3 trading days were the wildest swings we have seen since 2008 and Lightspeed is the only platform that I use that ran like a champ. No quote delays and instant fills. I probably make 50% of my yearly profits during just a handful of days, like we have just had (8/5-8/10). If your platform can't keep up with the market volatility, what good is it? Everyone was freezing up except for Lightspeed.

Thank you Lightspeed. Nothing like cashing in on volatility while the market is crashing and all the buy and hold whiners are losing their pants.


09 July 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

then why dont they write in capital letters "it takes time to open an account", why dont they list the full list of docs and personal info they need from us before we open an account?


09 July 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

if you got a contact there it means u r in business with them and then all these reviews are just a free theatre show. How many of these online brokers are in india, china, russia? why u have all referral links at the end of ur supa dupa reviews? u think all of us are stupid? many of us are, not all and those few left can show you how to live


25 June 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I HAVE BEEN USING THEM FOR CLOSE TO A YEAR NOW. I LOVE THE CUSTOMER SERVICE..GREAT PEOPLE AND I HAVE NEVER BEEN HUNG UP ON BEFORE.

I HAVE USED 2 OTHER BROKERS AND THEY ARE THEN BEST OF THE LOT. BY FAR THE CHEAPEST AND THE FASTEST.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND LIGHTSPEED TO MY FRIENDS FAMILY.


15 June 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Lightspeed is incompetent in more than one way. Customer service is abysmal and often unavailable when they are too busy to answer the phones. Avoid them.


05 May 2011

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

no i hear alot of bad things like costumer service dont work and they dont reply back. they ask a ALOT of info from u even something personal. they dont reply back and they hang up on u when u call for service


11 December 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Given your profile I would look at TradeKing & Zecco. You can read their reviews here:

TradeKing Reviews

Zecco Reviews


09 December 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I use Tradeking account, they charge me $4.95 . irrespective of how many shares they buy.


09 December 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

this pricing not good foor penny stock traders on $100,000.00 trade would cost me $95.00 if i bought at say aprox .0009 it cost me mor to effect the trade than what i invested not fair cost is $10.0 first 15 k shares and $5.00 per every 5k shares ther after scottrarde ia m doing for between 7 - 10 per 500k shares brokerage is a ripoff


08 December 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Thats not good. Lightspeed is a well established company. Email me at support@comparebroker.com and I will see what I can do for you through our contact there.


08 December 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

A little unsettled right now. Filled out an application with a ton of personal information. Got an email back saying please scan and send your drivers license to finish application along with personal net worth information. It's been almost a week. I sent follow up emails and phone calls for response. Nothing. All I get is voice mail and no one is answering my emails anymore. Is this a scam company that might have just sold my identity? I'm trying to find consumer complaints or anything with the Better Business Bureau but not a whole lot of luck. For all I know all the reviews are fake and posted by SHAM company. Help!


11 November 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Simply the best platform available for active traders. Great customer service as well.


20 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

lightning fast speed and real time quotes


20 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Lightspeed brings a number of institutional research tools to the platform, such as a net-order-imbalance indicator and a block-trade screener. Both Nasdaq and the NYSE have tools that display stocks with net order imbalances€”Nasdaq offers its Opening Cross and Closing Cross, while the NYSE has Market on Open and Market on Close. These measures list the stocks that have major order disparities in their buy-sell ratios, suggesting a strong price move in one direction or the other. Lightspeed€™s order-imbalance tool displays these stocks on a single screen, and lets you search for those you might find appealing.


Lightspeed€™s Block Trades tool has two components. One indicates when a trade of more than 10,000 shares is executed on any public exchange under any ticker symbol, while the other can be set to display stocks that fit certain user specifications. For instance, you can customize the tool to show stocks that trade more than 100,000 shares during a specified period. Many peripatetic traders want to be alerted to institutional activity in the stocks they€™re following, which can indicate that a mutual fund or insider is making a move they can profit from.

Until recently, Lightspeed€™s P&L calculations hadn€™t included commissions, but that shortcoming has been fixed. That€™s especially important because Lightspeed doesn€™t charge a flat fee per transaction (such as brokers like TDAmeritrade and Fidelity do), making commissions a little tricky to determine. Plus, rates depend on trading frequency.


18 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

I am a daytrader with ADD. I need a fast stock trading platform so I can get in and out of my positions. Lightspeed seems to be the platform for me.


15 May 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Exceptional rates!! small company but very reliable. Small company has its own problems such as not enough staff to support their growing needs, hence customers have to wait little longer (1-2 mins) to get hold of someone.


22 April 2009

Overall Rating

  • Types Of Accounts

  • Trading Fees

  • Technology

  • Mobile Platform

  • Customer Service

  • Education

bool(true)

Lightspeed has been a solid trading platform for me.


Tom Netrosio
06 May 2013
Reply

Since you know regarding how the industry performs, you can now really need to learn about the forex becoming traded within the Forex marketplace. You must know the international locations which have been presently trading with Forex. You will find at the very least twelve diverse currencies that are getting traded at any one unique time. Nevertheless you can find only 8 well-liked currencies which have been the most traded. These currencies are financial instruments of each of such unique nations around the world. The most well-liked currencies which might be traded will incorporate forex from New Zealand, Switzerland, Europe, Great Britain, Japan, Canada, Australia and the U.S.

finn
29 October 2012
Reply

Can someone tell me whyLightspeed is so bad. A friend of mine suggested me to open an account in Lightspeed trading but looking at the review now i’m not so sure whether i’m going to do it or not.
can someone point out common problems with Lightspeed.

    Punit Gupta
    01 November 2012
    Reply

    Lightspeed Trading is not a bad brokerage firm. Only thing is that they are targeted for more professional traders. Their systems are designed for very active traders. Their trading web GUI just isn’t that great and its very clear that they are targeting traders who need fast execution versus easy to use interface for example.

    Another thing with Lightspeed is that they do not support trading mutual funds. So if you are looking to trade mutual funds, you need to look elsewhere.

    One big positive with Lightspeed is that their rates are quiet cheap.

Lightspeed’s customer service seems to be really slow. It take two to three calls to get a simple ACH withdraw done, which by the way is always under "Maintenance". While ACH in seems to always work….this seems very fishy…even thought I think Lightspeed are not some scam/sham company.

Anyway, gone are those days of cheap trading, now they charge $3 per trade just like Sogotrade or other brokerages….I think I might have to start thinking about closing my account.

    Punit K Gupta
    07 July 2012
    Reply

    You are calling $3 not cheap? All the decent brokers charge more than $5. I mean if you really want to go with the leaders then you got to think about maybe TD Ameritrade but their charge is high. Check it out: TD Ameritrade charges details

Mel
07 February 2011
Reply

Very slow customer service. Trying to establish an ACH link, and up to now no emails indicating this task has been completed. I’ve been trying to fund my account for over 3 weeks already. I guess they don’t want my business or money.

Penny Stocks
30 September 2010
Reply

Good profits. If you’re looking for a major advantage to help you along the way when investing in penny stocks, find a discount broker. This will allow you to monitor your portfolio online in addition to making trades. Online trading provides superior advantages to trying to make trades over the phone but also allows you to get a more complete picture of the company or the stock you are considering.

Sal
12 September 2010
Reply

I was seriously considering these guys but after hearing all the software freezing complaints and the shotty customer service i opted for SpeedTrader. Besides Lightspeeds platform doesnt enlarge to my full screen size which sucks. Speedtrader is .004per share and with their platform and customer service i rather pay the .004 than the .0035 that LS offers. Just my .02cents

Pat
06 September 2010
Reply

Yes it is a rip off :(

Pat
06 September 2010
Reply

They want send you back your profits.They will send you your invested money back though,but whats the use playing this if you can’t win any money.

LS Customer Service
06 September 2010
Reply

There are certain suitability requirements which need to be met before a broker can approva a customer for a day trading account. This is why investment experience is a factor and why this question is asked. However, there is no monthly trading minimum at Lightspeed and there is not a $30K deposit minimum. It sounds like there was a misunderstanding along the way. We would be happy to address this issue with you and answer any additional questions you may have. Please email NewAccounts@lightspeed.com and write "Compare Broker" in the subject line.

LS Customer Service
06 September 2010
Reply

Nick, I would like to get some more info from you about the poor service experience you described. This is definietly not the way Lightspeed does business and I would like to address the issues you dealt with immediately. Rest assured we will make this right by you and, if required, take any necessary steps to improve an operational process. Please email me at NewAccounts@lightspeed.com and write "Compare Broker" in the subject line.

Nick
06 September 2010
Reply

Customer service at this company is pathetic. Trying to do a successful wire transfer will take them several days, and you’ll have to hound them every step of the way. I’ve had it with them and their periodically non-existent customer service. (If things are really busy you are simply out of luck, you will not get through on the phone.) Switching brokerages at the first opportunity.

Punit Gupta
14 August 2010
Reply

Dave,

Thats not true, Lightspeed’s minimum requirement is 1,000$. I believe there was some miscommunication here to be very honest with you.

Dave
12 June 2010
Reply

Rude and VERY unprofessional. Would not pick up a phone to help me. I had to open a chat window to talk to customer service. what am i a teenage girl on a Justin Beiber forum now?!?! NO. I am an investor who wanted to open up an international account. They asked me have I ever traded before…I said no. They said they werent interested unless i would make the 30 minimum trades per month and wired them 30 grand. I said ok, but why the EXPERIENCE required.

they said: NOPE not interested and disconnected the chat.

Oh well. what they failed to ask me was how much i wanted to trade. It was WAY more than the 30k Requirement.

So now Charles Schwab gets my commissions and i dont event think twice about it.

YOU LOST MONEY!!! :)

Lightspeed Customer
10 June 2010
Reply

The good: Good customer service reps and phone support, low commissions.

The bad: Email support is a joke, you never get a reply or any kind of response to emails. It takes them forever to get software bugs fixed. I have to call in every day to get them to set my buying power because of a bug in their software that resets the buying power to zero everyday but this isn’t getting fixed.

Punit Gupta
04 April 2010
Reply

Hi,

Never heard anything negative about Lightspeed Trading. Best way might be to just open an account and try for yourself. Honestly speaking, web is full of nonsense reviews that people write, for whatever motive. Over time I have determined that best is to just try out for yourself. Once you do, do come back and post your experience here so it helps others.

thanks

Lightspeed trader
04 April 2010
Reply

I am considering opening an account with Lightspeed due to their commission rate and my trading style, probably the web-based version. I have read some complaints on-line about either the software or web-based version freezing up during high volume market times. I have 2 questions:
1) Is this a common complaint, and which platform is more susceptible to freezes?
2) Is the web based platform more limited in its order types than the software version?

I appreciate any input. Right now I have. an account with Sogotrade and am not that satisfied with the number of order types.

Thanks.

Punit Gupta
18 March 2010
Reply

You realize that it takes a day or two for any brokerage firm to approve your account, right? If you do not hear anything in couple days, you can contact RMS@lightspeed.com to get an immediate answer. Or email me at support@comparebroker.com and I will get you an answer. LightSpeed platform is really neat, you will love it!

help need
18 March 2010
Reply

just sent personal info and still haven’t been able to access lightspeed new acct. wondering what the hell is going on. sounds like a bunch of jokers to me. did anyone read license to steal. pick it up sometime

LS Customer Service
01 February 2010
Reply

Has this issue been resolved? If not, please email RMS@lightspeed.com and it will be taken care of immediately. If it has already been resolved please let us know.

Guest
11 December 2009
Reply

Given your profile I would look at TradeKing & Zecco. You can read their reviews here at CompareBroker

Guest
20 May 2009
Reply

"Lightspeed brings a number of institutional research tools to the platform, such as a net-order-imbalance indicator and a block-trade screener. Both Nasdaq and the NYSE have tools that display stocks with net order imbalances

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

 

 

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Those Who Viewed Lightspeed Trading Review Also Viewed

Popular Brokerage Offers

14% chose this

Get 100 Trades Absolutely free with new accounts, $600 value

 

15% chose this

No FEE, No minimum IRA trading

 

14% chose this

The more you fund—the more free newsletters you can choose

 

14% chose this

Get a $100 cash rebate to cover any transfer fees

 

Top